Indranie Sukhdeo from Guyana asks:
“I am a vegetarian, and I was told that I can’t use foodstuff containing a substance called ‘Monosodium Glutamate’. Is that true? Is MSG made from animal? What other food ingredient with a chemical or scientific name is not suitable for vegetarians? (i.e made of animals or associated parts)”
Monosodium Glutamate is not derived from animal products. It is 100% chemical. Not that that’s a good thing.
Glad to hear that you know that many common foods are contaminated with animal-based additives. It’s always good to read food labels carefully.
You may not know that cochineal (120), a natural red colour, is derived from the bodies of pregnant scale insects.
‘Savvy’ vegetarians are aware that gelatine (441), a thickening, stabilising and emulsifying agent that’s present in many many foods, is made by boiling animal (usually cattle or pigs) skin, ligaments, bones, sinews or other tissue.
You should also check that loaf of bread. L-Cysteine is a flour treatment agent extracted from duck and chicken feathers.
Here’s a pretty exhaustive list of food additives for inquisitive vegetarian eaters….
And for strict vegans, here’s a great list.
Posted by Kurma on 2/9/07; 11:31:20 AM